Endicott's Frenette and Salve Regina's Stanton Headline 2013 All-Conference Team


Endicott College quarterback Drew Frenette (Jr., New Bedford, Mass.) and Salve Regina University defensive Lineman Hayden Stanton (So., Wallingford, Conn. ) have been named the 2013 Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year in balloting by the New England Football Conference coaches. Frenette and Stanton lead a list of XXX players selected to the All-Conference teams. All eight of the NEFC institutions are represented on the teams.

Frenette led Endicott to the NEFC championship with a perfect 7-0 Conference record. He threw for 2502 yards and 24 touchdowns while completing 63.7% of his passes. He ranked first in the NEFC in passing yards, passing yards per game, and touchdown passes. Frenette will lead the Gulls to Rowan University and the first round of the NCAA Division III Championship Tournament on Saturday.

Stanton was the anchor of the Salve Regina defensive line. The Seahawks led the NEFC in total defense (301.9 yards/game), rushing defense (138.5 yards/game) and scoring defense (17.3 points per game). Stanton tallied 27 solo tackles and 24 assists in 2013. He led the league in sacks with 10.5 and was second in tackles for loss at 16. Stanton added a forced fumble, a pass break-up and blocked two kicks. The Seahawks season will continue this weekend as they host Western Connecticut State University in the ECAC Northeast Bowl.

For the second consecutive year, Salve Regina offensive center Floyd Shaffer (Sr.,Conshohocken, Pa.) was named the Offensive Lineman of the Year. The Seahawks rushed for 1938 yards and passed for 2182 to average 412 yards of total offense per game.

Craig Anderson (Fr., Franklin, Mass.), a defensive lineman from Endicott has been named the Defensive Rookie of the Year and Coast Guard quarterback Derek Victory (Fr., Weston, Fla.) was the pick for Offensive Rookie of the Year. Anderson cracked a lineup that was the second ranked defense in the Conference and had 49 total tackles including 2.5 sacks and six total tackles for loss. Victory took over as the starter in game four for the Bears and led the team to a 3-3 record. He threw for 1477 yards and nine touchdowns while completing 58.7% of his passes.

Endicott’s JB Wells has been selected by his peers as Coach of the Year. Wells led Endicott to its second NEFC crown, having won the school’s first in 2010. Wells has directed the Gulls to four consecutive post season appearances, playing in the NCAA tournament in 2010 and 2013, and competing in Eastern College Athletic Conference bowl games in 2011 and 2012. Wells is the only head coach in the history of the Endicott program.

The Hal Chalmers Senior Scholar Athlete Award was won by MIT defensive Back Rhys Borchert (Sr., Pocatello, Idaho). Borchert, a second team all Conference pick, is a Physics major. He was recently named to the Capital One Academic All-District first team and now appears on the national Academic All-America ballot.

The complete 2013 New England Football Conference All-Conference teams and awards.